You Say Tomato…

Photo by benoit_d at Flickr

“What we see depends mainly on what we look for.” John Lubbock

Sometimes success seems elusive.  Before we get to where we want to be, we burn out, or lose interest in what we are striving for.  We become frustrated with where we are, and the results of our hard work.

It’s at these moments that perspective makes all the difference.

We begin writing goals and objectives with a certain destination in mind.  That destination is the best guess at what we want to achieve.  It may not be a measurable destination. It may not be a realistic destination.  It might be a destination filled with all the emotion of our hopes and dreams, and it might not ever be achievable.

But what happens when we are miserable and stressed out?  What do we do when our dreams don’t seem to be coming along as well as we’d hoped?  If we’re like most people, we say “Don’t give up.  You can do it.”  And maybe we can.  We never know unless we try, right?

There seems to be an embarrassment about changing our destinations, our goals.  If we say we are going to do “X”, then we can’t deviate from it.  If we do deviate from the plan, then we are weak and unsuccessful.

Is it a cop out to modify our goals?  I don’t think so.  At any given time we do what we can do, with the information we have.  Life changes, people change, and priorities change.  Why can’t our goals change?

What I appreciate about the John Lubbock quote above is the freedom to look at other pathways.  When we get to that point where our goals seem farther away than ever, and the motivation to continue on is fading, we can look at other options without being a failure.

Have you modified any goals lately?  Did you feel better or worse after you did so?

9 responses to “You Say Tomato…

  1. I sometimes modify daily! So many challenges, a few set-backs. I often don’t feel as motivated as others, but I don’t let myself feel guilty about it either. All good things come to those who can wait, and keep plodding along. And I enjoy my downtime – it helps to refresh me.

  2. Hi Lara! It’s not always a cop out to modify your goals. Sometimes it’s the smart thing to do. Making changes, adapting and fine tuning are all part of the game.

  3. I think you have to be adaptable or go crazy. Sometimes you have to modify a goal and sometimes you have to put it on the back burner while you give yourself a chance to recharge. I think one can go too far with “never give up.” Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result is the definition of insanity…or so some wise person once said.

  4. I agree with all of the above, Lara. Change can be good and can give you fresh eyes and a fresh path to achieve the same or new goals. Your best post, yet!

    • Thanks so much, Marcia! I wrote the post kind of late, and had to read it to my husband to make sure it made sense. I really think LLC has helped me develop my blogging voice. 🙂

  5. Pingback: When is Giving Up a Good Thing? « Sonia G Medeiros

We love feedback. Please share!