Life Really is Too Short (Even When it’s Long)

LilyRecently, my grandmother passed away. And, as is so often the case with the death of a family member, the regrets came along with the sadness. Why didn’t I write and visit anywhere near as often as I should have? Why didn’t I know her better? Why? Why? Why?

I realized that life is really too short not to make sure our friends and family know we love them. It’s too short to put off that visit, call, letter or email. It’s too short not to tell them we love them as much as we can.

Life is too short to create regrets.

It’s too short to put off our dreams. Whatever it is we wish for, no matter howClimbing Silhouette seemingly unreachable, we must strive for it even if it’s only a bit at a time. Whether we succeed or fail or change our minds, we must persevere because life is too short to do otherwise.

And, if life is too short to miss the smallest opportunity to show our loved ones we love them and too short not to seek our dreams, then it is also too short to kick ourselves endlessly in the behind for what we did or didn’t do, should have done, messed up or put off. Each moment is an opportunity to change, to stop taking for granted that there will be time tomorrow. We can seize the here and now.

Life is too short for a lot of things. It’s up to us to decide what and start living it.

I invite you to finish the sentence: Life is too short to…

***

Come visit me on my blog or find me on Facebook or Twitter.

***

In honor of my grandmother. Daughter, sister, friend, artist, wife, mother, grandmother and great-grandmother.  April 15, 1935 – March 28, 2012.

22 responses to “Life Really is Too Short (Even When it’s Long)

  1. So nice of you to honor the departed. It has been said, prayers for the loved ones who have crossed over are like spiritual hugs. I am certain your grandma is feeling much joy from your dedication. 🙂

  2. Life is too short to…
    overplan and under-play, not take chances, say, “when I have time I’ll.”

    Life is too short to…

    live for tomorrow, regret the past, ignore spontaneity, wait for an apology, wait to apologize, let I Love You go unsaid, ignore opportunities for Random Acts of Kindness, worry others will think we’re silly when we dance alone in public.

  3. Life is too short to live without faith.

    Lovely post, Sonia.

  4. Life is too short to waste one minute being angry or wallowing in self-pity, to forget what’s important, to be ‘too busy’ to notice the little things, to forget how to play.
    So sorry about your grandmother, Sonia. I’m sure she knows how much you love her and she’ll always be with you. Very nice tribute to her.

  5. Life is too short for us not to give it our best shot. Big hug for you Sonia.

  6. I’m so sorry you lost your grandma.

    If I spent time worrying over my regrets, I’d never get anything else done! I make mistakes still, experienced and “mature” as I am. I try to learn from it, apologize if it’s warranted, get over it, move on.

  7. Nicole Chardenet

    Sonia, don’t beat yourself up. I did that a little too, after my father died in December (why didn’t I tell him one last time I loved him? Well actually I kinda did in a backhanded sense when I was haranguing him to see the cardiologist because I was concerned about him, why did I forget to take him & Mom home at Thanksgiving instead of jumping into the shower, blah blah blah. You know what? My Dad knew I loved him, and I know he loved me. We didn’t have to say it “one last time”. I had him for for–er,uh, rather a good many years 😉 so I don’t feel like I should complain. It’s so easy to play woulda-coulda-shoulda when someone passes on, but I don’t know if there are ever *any* “ideal” circumstances for someone to leave us like this. Just cherish the good times you had with Grandma or Nana and don’t beat yourself up over the w.s.c.’s 😉

  8. I’m so sorry about your grandmother, Sonia! It’s so hard to lose someone we love.

    Life is too short…to wander through your life. Embrace every moment!

  9. So well said. Life is too short not to embrace every day as a gift, make the most of it and be grateful.
    My sympathies for your loss ~ the memories live on.

  10. Pingback: K is for Kicking My A$$ ~ How To Cope With Being Overcommitted ~ #AtoZchallenge | Jenny Hansen's Blog

  11. Life is too short not to laugh every day, even those days that you have to look a little harder for the source of that laughter.

    What a wonderful post, Sonia. I especially loved how you reminded us at the end that life is too short to live with regrets about what we didn’t do before. The best way to honor those loved ones who have departed that we wish we’d spent more time with is to live the present with the lessons we learned from those missed opportunities. I felt very much as you did when my grandfather passed away in January. I can’t go back and change all the nights I didn’t drop by to see him, but I do remind myself of them when a really exhausting workday has me wanting to just go home and veg on the couch instead of stopping by my Grandmom’s first : ).

    • I love that too. We absolutely have to laugh everyday. It makes all the difference.

      I’m sorry about your grandfather too. It’s good that we can take these lessons away and make positive changes in our lives.

  12. Life is too short to take anything for granted.

    Life is too short.

    My condolences, Sonia. Now I feel the need to make a trip out to see my grandparents…..

We love feedback. Please share!

