What Has My Life List Taught Me? by Jenny Hansen

Photo from GreenManolo.com

Baby steps count. A lot.

There have been times over my last ten months with the Life List Club where those tiny little steps to “somewhere” were ALL I could take.

And they’ve made all the difference in the world.

Baby steps have kept me from having panic attacks when I think of my dreams and do you know why?

I stopped thinking about the entire huge, impossible, far-int0-the-future ‘here’s what I want to be when I grow up’ kind of dreams. Thinking about big dreams makes me run backwards, hands wheeling in the air, panic in my chest.

I discovered this the hard way, when I wasn’t getting anything done.

I joined ROW80 and started doing tiny, manageable things:

  • “x” number of blog posts per week
  • “x” number of writing minutes per day
  • “This many” miles walked each week
  • Diet changes like giving up gluten and nothing else

Then I joined the Life List Club and added some work/life balance items to my list of goals. (Click here for my Life List.)

And you know what? It’s working! I’m crossing things off my Life List every single quarter. There’s still more to do, but part of why this is my last LLC post is that many career doors are opening for me as a result of all these baby steps.

I saw a graphic with a quote the other day that resonated with me:

Follow your dreams to reach your goals
& Follow your goals to reach your dreams.

That’s powerful, headyย stuff. All we have to do is chase GOALS and the rest will come.

Whoa.

Like, if I make a Life List and just go for crossing things off it, the Universe will put opportunity in my way? It sure seems that way to me.

Chasing dreams will take you to places you’ve never been. I’m betting you’re going to like those places. ๐Ÿ™‚

Thank you, to every single member of the Life List Club, including those who are no longer with us, for supporting me on my journey and sharing your own journey with me. I will miss posting with you, but I’ll remain an avid reader and fan!

Do you make lists of your life goals? Why or why not?ย Can you think of just one step you can take that will start you on the road to that dream you want more than anything else? Will you share it?

About Jenny Hansen

Jenny fills her nights with humor: writing memoir, womenโ€™s fiction, chick lit, short stories (and chasing after her toddler Baby Girl). By day, she provides training and social media marketing for an accounting firm. After 15 years as a corporate software trainer, sheโ€™s digging this sit down and write thing.

When sheโ€™s not at her blog, More Cowbell, Jenny can be found on Twitter at jhansenwrites and at her group blog,ย Writers In The Storm. Every Saturday, she writes the Risky Baby Business posts at More Cowbell, a series that focuses on babies, new parents and high-risk pregnancy.

27 responses to “What Has My Life List Taught Me? by Jenny Hansen

  1. Jenny, I won’t go all maudlin on you because I’ll still get to visit you over at More Cowbell. Woot! You came, you shared, you conquered. I expect to hear where and what you’re teaching on-line in your new venture. Yes. I will take classes. No. I can not promise I’ll behave–especially if LLCer Sherry Isaac is in class with me.

    My ‘under-construction’ site will have an LLC page.

  2. I have re-evaluated goals and dreams. The dream is still there – get published one way or another. The goals, the steps, they seem to change frequently! People come and go, a business relationship doesn’t work out, but then meet new friends and find new blogs ๐Ÿ™‚ re-evaluate, re-work, just keep plugging away.

    • It’s lovely to meet you, Karen! That’s a fantastic dream, and one I share. But the plugging away is what’s getting me there. The goals really, really mattered for me.

  3. If you don’t know where you are heading, how will you know when you’ve arrived?

    Oh, here I am, trying to be all profound, and Gloria Richard’s comment catches my eye. Who’s gonna take me seriously now? Snort.

  4. We wish you the best of luck in your future career ventures, Jenny. Thanks for bringing your humor, insights and friendship to LLC. It’s been a great ride!

  5. We are going to miss you Jenny. Thanks for all the fun LLC Fridays we shared. And you’re right, taking baby steps is better than sitting around thinking about all the big dreams we are afraid to tackle.

    • Thanks, Gary! Yep, the big gestures weren’t getting anything done for me. Life List Club has taught me A LOT! And I’ll definitely miss posting with you guys. But like Pam, I’ll remain on the sidelines cheering.

  6. Oh, wow, Jenny! I don’t know what they are, but I’m so excited for you about the career opportunities that have come your way! I’m sorry to hear that you won’t be doing LLC posts any more, but as someone who had to make a similar decision I completely understand the tough choices we have to make when we have LOTS of good things coming our way. Looking forward to keeping up with your blog and seeing where your new ventures take you!

    • Thanks, Pam! I have about three people that I’ll be teaching for online so I’ll be really busy and working toward my dream of working from home. I’m hoping to give up my drive 6 hours a week job by September, but it’s going to be a hell of a lot of work. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Pingback: L is for Life List Club + It’s PIMP or PROMOTE at More Cowbell Today! #AtoZchallenge | Jenny Hansen's Blog

  8. Pingback: Cutepocalypse Now: The stumble…the stumble. « Sonia G Medeiros

  9. I’ll certainly miss getting to talk to you on a somewhat regular basis, but as Gloria said, I’ll be visiting more More Cowbell to get a Jenny fix! Good luck with achieving even more on your Life List!

  10. That is one heady quotation there, Jenny–it makes me have goosebumps! I’ll be cheering you on the path to your goals!

  11. I’ll miss you so much on the Life List Club but I’ll be stalking you everywhere else. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m a huge fan of the baby steps. And I love “Follow your dreams to reach your goals…”

  12. This is wonderful and motivating.

  13. I’ve learned in my life that people can be rude, ignorant, unappreciative!! But, no matter what they do and do to you, you must keep trucking on and never give up!

  14. I’m so happy that LLC and ROW80 have helped you stay SANE and moving forward. You know, I have a silly question: how does one get involved with ROW80? Is there a certain time of year peeps sign up? Where can I learn more about it?

We love feedback. Please share!

