Our Passionate Lives

My biggest goal in life is to live with passion and to discover new passions along the way.

In the first half of our adult lives, we are constantly defined by our relations to others such as parents, children, spouses, and bosses.

In the second half of our lives, we can choose to design a new identity. We have the time and the options to find and follow an undiscovered path to our passions.

My research and observations tell me that mature women, those 50-something’s, some nicknamed “Cougars”, have truly taken possession of the second half of their adulthood, and I love being part of that group.

We’re bold and passionate, bursting with vitality and, yet, joyfully mellow.

Age brings its own brand of insecurity. Do you ever feel that women over 50 become invisible to some men? Some men over 50 seem to be looking the way of the younger, thinner, blonder type. (Maybe they have the same worries about their passionate lives as we.)

At first, we may think we can no longer attract a man’s attention…even our own man. Some introspection focused on the positives can help that fear fade.

If we look around, we begin to see celebrated women such as, Raquel Welch, Helen Mirren, and Diane Keaton held as the epitome of “middle-age”. This is a giant signal with flashing lights that we need to embrace the perks of being our age.

What are the benefits of our age?

We have what younger women have, and more!

  • We have energy, enthusiasm, wit, passion, drive and wisdom.
  • We have more control of our lives, a deeper confidence, a soul-soothing, inner harmony.
  • We are amazingly imaginative when we need to develop a network of companionship, fun and purpose to sustain us.

Now is the time to intensify our other attractions.

passion propels your dreams, passionate life

If you look inward and find no sense of mastery, no belief in yourself, don’t despair! Passion and mastery can be created. Challenge yourself with a specific action, something new you’ve never done before.

Recruit a support system, including those who love you. The experience of succeeding and the positive feedback from your supporters will be the final step in securing the belief that you can create a new identity, one that will liberate you.

With this reawakening of ourselves, we become fortified for whatever lies ahead. Life throws us curves, illnesses beset us or those around us, beauty fades, age takes our loved ones.

Life was meant to be lived. Curiosity must be kept alive. One must never turn his back on life. –Eleanor Roosevelt

Curiosity must never die. When one door closes, another opens. We have to have the courage to walk through the door without looking back.

We can tap into the skills and talents that have lain dormant, unused. We can search for meaningfulness. We deserve lives full with quality — great emotional and physical health, relationships that enhance our being, a purpose that helps us grow.

You don’t have to be over 50 to adopt this way of living, either. Anyone at any age is capable of bringing more passion into their life.

Living with passion should be on everyone’s life list, right? My passions keep me learning something new everyday! That’s most of what makes up my Life List!

How do you live your life with passion? Tell us about something new you’ve tried recently. Is it on your Life List?

Be sure to come back on Friday! The fabulous Sonia Medeiros will be here to enlighten and entertain!

26 responses to “Our Passionate Lives

  1. I’m sneaking up on 55. At about 48, I finally realized I was living for others. I also realized I was agreeing to end arguments, I was always saying, “Yes, okay.” I was always doing favors, when I didn’t have the time. Be gone, pre-50, be gone! I’m better now than I ever was in any of the other, younger decades. Who cares I need a little help getting off the floor?

    • I feel the same way, Karen! Who’d have thought we’d actually be happier with ourselves in our 50s? Getting off the floor….yeah, that’s a tough one. 🙂

  2. I just love that quote by Eleanor Roosevelt…it’s so true.

  3. Love your post Marcia. Mary Higgins Clark is 84 and last I checked, she’s still writing thrillers. There’s hope for us Marcia!

  4. Amen, sistah! Just turned 50 a few weeks ago, and I want to try more things, as long as I’m not risking life and limb, LOL. Thanks for the inspiring post!

    • Good for you, Kathy! Make sure you DO try those things. A decade flies by! I wish I had done more. I sure as heck won’t waste a minute of my last few months of my 50s and none of my 60s!

  5. Amen Marcia – love it!

    • Thanks, Natalie! You have awhile before you hit 50+ and I know you’ll be a great example then as you are now of living life to the fullest!

  6. Pingback: Versatile is the New Wild « SHERRY ISAAC

  7. I prefer to think of the point past 50 as another phase, rather than the other half. For me, the second half suggests I am near the end. I like to think I have more than one life phase left in me, LOL!
    Nearing the cusp of 50, I plan to pursue a passion I’ve had since I was a child: horses.
    Why do I choose to mention horses today, in this comment? Because I have my own post to advertise, of course!
    http://sherryisaac.com/2012/05/30/versatile-is-the-new-wild/

  8. What a great post, Marcia! I’m just shy of 50, but I think these tips are great for anyone. I stay curious, am excited about meeting new people and having new adventures. Keeping an open mind about everything also helps.

  9. At 53, I’m so much happier than I was at 30 or 40. I didn’t start my writing career until about 4 1/2 years ago, and it was something I had always wanted to do. Yes, there’s still life after 50!

  10. Great post, Marcia. I wish I had been as comfortable in my skin at 25 as I am now. I’ll be 56 this year, but still feel like I’m 36. Every year just keeps getting better, doesn’t it?

  11. It does, Sheila! My Mom told me it would, but who’d have thought she’d be right?! I’m still 35 in my head — if only my skin still looked that good!

  12. “Passion and mastery can be created.” I love that! While I’m not quite in my 50s, I do want to take possession of my adulthood. I always love your posts, Marcia. You’re so very wise and encouraging. 😀

    • Aw, thanks, Sonia! I know you’re a very busy mom, but as your kids get older and more self-sufficient, you’ll find more little pockets of time to call your own. you’ll be able to continually build them to a point where you can pursue almost anything you want. The more experiences you have, the more you develop who you want to be after 50.

  13. Courage and curiosity. Love that combo, Marcia! As I approach mid-life, I live more fully and more freely. Thanks for pointing out the many wonderful aspects of being a woman over 50. 🙂

    • I know you’ll be another ‘fab over 50’ gal, Jolyse! It’s a wonderful feeling to know we’re finally able to live life the way we’d always wanted to.

  14. Pingback: Spam and Eggs: Gems from the Spam Filter | The Life List Club

  15. Pingback: It’s all About the Milestone Party « Sonia G Medeiros

We love feedback. Please share!

